You Know Jesus, Don’t You?

I have the privilege of traveling around this great country of ours leading professional development for predominantly public school teachers…so I’m a “teacher of teachers.”  Recently I was in Iowa teaching a lovely group of middle school teachers.  At the lunch break, one of the teachers came to talk to me and she said something that I’ve been asked on a few occasions now.  She said, “You know Jesus, don’t you?”  

This question always surprises me as I know that I never stand in front of a group of teachers and outwardly share my love for Jesus.  I never present the gospel message.  I never open my bible and share God’s Word.  I never pause our day to say a prayer, although I pray throughout the entire day.

I smiled at her and said, “I do know Him and I assume you do too!” And then we had the sweetest, most genuine conversation about our faith and about our love for our Savior.  We talked about how, even in the public school setting, we can still live out our faith and demonstrate our love for Jesus in our words, our actions and reactions.  We talked about how we invite Jesus into that setting which can be so very hostile towards Him.  I got to know my “Sister in Christ” over the 4 days we spent together and I thank God for this special encounter and for the reminder that our lives do serve as a testimony to others and especially to those who can’t quite figure out what makes us different.

Matthew 5:16 ” In the same way, let your light shine before others, so that they may see your good works and give glory to your Father who is in heaven.”