Why I Attend the GLS

For the last several years, I’ve had the privilege to attend the Willow Creek Association’s Global Leadership Summit simulcasted live at Bethel at Philadelphia Mills. Even though I’ve attended via satellite simulcast, it has become a highlight of my year. I’ve assisted with some of the technical aspects to help Bethel’s GLS event run smoothly. Bethel has a great tech team, and it’s a pleasure to work with them.

Here are five reasons why I look forward to the GLS:

  1. Serving alongside other churches – We’re all in this together and I love the
    Photo from Instagram.com/wcagls

    opportunity to serve alongside fellow Jesus-followers and help leaders become better leaders. These men (and fellow technicians) are awesome!

  2. Great content every year – From Bill Hybels to leadership experts Patrick Lencioni and Dr. Henry Cloud, the Global Leadership Summit always brings the best speakers to share lessons for leaders in all spheres of life.
  3. The Local Church is the Hope of the World – Bill Hybels, senior pastor of Willow Creek Community Church has been known to say from time to time that the local church is the hope of the world. That’s because we have the gospel of Jesus Christ, who can change lives and change the world. We need to stop playing church, and be the church. Each year, this is a great reminder of our calling.
  4. Seeing outside the box – I love to see the technical artists at Willow and at Bethel at work. From the stage lighting to the set design, these artists understand what it takes to create environments that draw you in, and hold your attention. Their careful use of lighting, color, and effects is inspiring.
  5. Photo from Instagram.com/wcagls
    Photo from Instagram.com/wcagls

    Investing in my own leadership – This may go without saying, but we are all leaders. We all lead in various capacities from the home to our work, from our community soccer leagues to our churches and ministries. Everyone benefits when a leader gets better. I want to be the best leader I can be, and the GLS helps me do that.

While I’m often managing multiple screens, the weather, technical liaising, and other duties while I serve during the GLS, it’s always great to attend and serve at the Global Leadership Summit.

When was the last time you invested in yourself as a leader?

Would you consider attending the GLS next year? I’m sure you’ll enjoy it and come out a better leader!